« Tobacco education resources offered to Whitley County residents via Allen County program | Main | Interns for Indiana Program seeking entrepreneurial businesses in Northeast Indiana »

Delta Kappa Gamma members visit Huntington's Dan Quayle Center

(Talk of the Town photo provided) First vice president Victoria Eastman, below at left, stands with executive director of the Dan Quayle Center Dan Johns before introducing him to the members of the local chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma. Presiding president Donna Ott, right, led the recent meeting at the Huntington Library.

By Judy Lewis

The Alpha Zeta Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma met at 8:30 a.m. on March 10, 2012 in the Huntington Public Library, Huntington, Indiana.
The meeting was called to order by President Donna Ott. Barbara Buroker gave information on United States vice presidents after which Victoria Eastman introduced speaker, Dan Johns, executive director of the Dan Quayle Center. In his 13 years at the museum, he has added memorabilia from all the former vice presidents to the collections. He has developed programs for second grade through high school and increased contact from about 1,500 students per year to 10,000 per year.
Linda Sutton presented the slate of officers to be voted upon for 2012-2014 as: President: Victoria Eastman, First Vice President: Carol Winterholter, Second Vice President: Roxanne Thomas, Recording Secretary: Brenda Landis, and Corresponding Secretary: Evelyn Priddy. The nominations committee slate is Karen Bandelier, chairman, Lois Eis, Jo Keller and Barbara Buroker with Linda Sutton as ex officio. Michelle Ball has been appointed by Victoria as treasurer and Mary Palmer will serve as parliamentarian.
Pat Hauenstein reported that a grant-in-aid has been selected from each of the three counties of Huntington, Whitley and Wabash. Lori Heuer announced a candidate for the Esther Mae Ashley Scholarship.
In unfinished business, a committee was established to update the Standing Rules and the 2012-13 proposed budget was presented and approved with one amendment. A ballot vote welcomed Francine Johnson as a new member. Support and volunteers for FAME which will be held April 14 at the Honeywell Center in Wabash were sought. Carol Herzog was introduced as the state liaison.
A pound auction was held to raise money and over $700 was raised and donations were being added. $100 will be sent to International Convention which will be held in Indianapolis, $100 to the UNICEF Africa Project, and $500 to Henryville, Indiana, which was recently destroyed by a tornado. The next meeting will be at Manchester College in the Science Building and Heather Schilling will present the program on digital reading.
Members from Whitley County in attendance were Karen Bandelier, MaryLou Fries, Sally Gerard, Donna Ott, Barbara Overdeer, Kathaleen Reese, Marsha Ruesch, Laurel Steill and Linda Sutton.
Alpha Zeta Chapter represents Huntington, Wabash and Whitley counties of the Delta Kappa Gamma International Society, a society of key women educators from the United States, North America and Europe.


TrackBack URL for this entry:

[ Yahoo! ] options