« Heuer’s venture capital tax credit bill passes the House | Main | Legislative update events slated for tomorrow and March 26 bring together senator and state representatives with constituents »

Four seek mayoral seat, 10 running for seats on Columbia City Common Council

By Jennifer Zartman Romano

Noon today marked the filing deadline for candidates planning to run in the Columbia City municipal elections -- seeking seats as mayor, on city council and as city clerk-treasurer.
As of the filing deadline, four individuals have made their wishes to seek the seat of Columbia City Mayor known, including: Ryan Daniel, Gary "Big G" Parrett and Donald Sexton on the Republican ticket and Cathy Heritier on the Democratic ticket.
Incumbent city clerk-treasurer Rosie Coyle, a Republican, is at this time the only candidate running unopposed by a candidate of either party. Democrats now have until July to caucus to find a candidate to run in that seat if they choose to. An independent candidate would have a similar time frame in which to register.
Seeking the at-large city common council seats are Daniel Weigold, Republican, and Michael R. Malcolm, Democrat.
Republican Jacie Worrick and Democrat Charles "Chick" Harker will each seek the city common council's northeast seat.
Democrat Scott Allison and Republican Bill Simpson will be seeking the city common council's northwest seat.
Republican Nicole Penrod and Democrat Christian Hockemeyer will run opposed for the city common council's southeast seat.
Democrat Roger Seymoure and Republican Ben T. Romine are running against one another for the southwest seat of the city common council.


TrackBack URL for this entry: